Personal Blog #1: Virginia Wine Country

Last weekend my boyfriend Marty and I took a little trip to the Shenandoah Valley/Virginia Wine Country, where we rented a cabin with two other couples for three nights. Now, considering  that the name of the company from which we rented the cabin was named “Hot Tub Heaven,” you can imagine that we were really roughing it! 😉 Regardless of the fact that we weren’t exactly camping in the woods without indoor plumbing, it was a fabulous, relaxing weekend getaway full of good friends, good food and good wine.

The good wine part (coupled with the other two, of course) was my favorite part of the weekend. Visiting a VA winery/vineyard for a tour and/or tasting has been something Marty and I have been wanting to do in the DC area for a long time, so when we headed to the Fox Meadow Winery on Saturday afternoon, I was very excited.

Marty and I have gotten very interested in wine over the past few years, but I like to think we are not snobby about it. We just like trying new kinds — even “cheap” brands — learning about how it’s made, how to pair it with various food, and even how it fits into American and other cultures. We especially like trying the wine bars/tastings/wine festivals in the DC area, and I always thought the places around here were pretty fun/great — that is, until we arrived at the Fox Meadow Winery.

While the place was not huge by any means, it was still a nicely-sized medium-sized cottage-like building sitting on a small vineyard, and I was in love with it immediately. The best part was the big deck out back, where Marty, our friends and I spent the afternoon (after an amazing tasting of 6 wines) drinking wine, eating cheese (the horseradish cheese was my fave), strolling through the vineyard and taking pictures of the sun setting behind the mountains. It was a perfect autumn day, and we all spent a few minutes joking about how beautiful the

Marty and me relaxing with some yummy vino at Fox Meadow Winery 11/13/10

fall foliage was out there, compared to in the DC area where you barely even notice when the leaves start changing color.

The peaceful atmosphere of the winery was a welcome break from the craziness of my everyday life of work, school and other activities in DC. Marty and I even enjoyed some time just chatting and drinking wine together while our friends went for a walk amongst the vines. We talked about how much nicer and open and relaxed this place was compared to some of the stuffier wine bars we had been to in DC, and it really helped me gain some perspective on how I need to make more time to relax and appreciate the things in life that I truly enjoy more often.

While I consider myself to be much more of a “city girl” than not, as I really love living in the city and enjoying all DC has to offer when it comes to restaurants, the arts, history and politics, unwinding in VA wine country last weekend made me think big time about how I really like to (and that I need to) take some time to just get away from my daily life here and appreciate places that let you just take a breath of fresh air… along with a nice sip of wine. 🙂

Until next time —
J

About Jessie Gillman

This blog was created for my social media class as part of my graduate program in PR and communications at Georgetown University in Washington, DC. In addition to being a grad student, I am a PR/comm professional at Environics Communications where I focus on clean energy/environmental issues, education and women's health. I am also a huge book lover, an avid traveler, a big Philly sports fanatic, and I love Yoga.
This entry was posted in Personal Blog Entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

