Personal Blog #3: E-A-G-L-E-S!

My parents weren’t always Philadelphia sports fans. They were born and raised in a suburb outside Chicago, so until they moved our family to the Philly area in 1996, they were Chicago sports fans, and particularly, Chicago Bears fans. They were big Bears’ fans too – especially my dad. There’s even a photo of me, age 1 year and 5 months, wearing a Bears sweat suit and laying next to my dad in his recliner as we watched the Bears win the 1986 Superbowl against the Patriots.

But having lived outside Philly for nearly 15 years, which was most of our childhood, now my parents are just as big Philadelphia Eagles fans as my brother, sister and me. In fact, this afternoon the Eagles are playing the Bears, and my parents are rooting for the Eagles with no problem (other than the fact that my Gram, who still lives in Chicago, would be turning  over in her gave, if she were dead, of course).

Marty and me at the Eagles/Redskins MNF Game 11/15/10

Needless to say, my family loves Philly sports. We are big fans of the Phillies, the Flyers, and the Sixers, but NFL Football and the Eagles are our favorite. Despite the fact that angry fans threw snowballs at Santa Claus on the field at a game in the 1960s (although we WERE 1-15 that season); despite the fact that the team has taken a trip to the NFC Championship game multiple times and lost every but one and then lost the Superbowl; despite the fact that they traded Donovan McNabb to our division rivals, the Washington Redskins (although we are loving QB Michael Vick right now, don’t get me wrong), we are true blue (green?) Birds fans.

My boyfriend Marty grew up outside Philly too, and is also a huge Eagles’ fan, so my family was jealous of us when our friends Jackson and Catherine (Redskins fans, of course) invited us to go with them to the Eagles/Redskins Monday Night Football game two weeks ago – the one where the Eagles and Vick broke records and absolutely decimated McNabb and the Skins 59-28? Yep, that’s the one!  That game was hands down one of the most fun football games I have ever been to, and thanks to Jackson and Catherine, we had great seats under the overhang, away from the pouring rain. 🙂

I was a little disappointed when our friends didn’t want to stay for the whole game, but obviously I can’t say I was that surprised, given the outcome! Plus, it was the beginning of the fourth quarter, and neither teams scored after that, so I really couldn’t complain. It had been a dream game for a die-hard Eagles fan like me, and both my parents had texted me their excitement throughout the night, so if there was ever any doubt about to which team their loyalty really stood, I was completely assured during that game! 🙂

Until next time –
J

About Jessie Gillman

This blog was created for my social media class as part of my graduate program in PR and communications at Georgetown University in Washington, DC. In addition to being a grad student, I am a PR/comm professional at Environics Communications where I focus on clean energy/environmental issues, education and women's health. I am also a huge book lover, an avid traveler, a big Philly sports fanatic, and I love Yoga.
This entry was posted in Personal Blog Entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

